Addis Ababa City Administration Addis Ababa City Administration

Addis Ababa comprises 6 zones and 28 woredas. The city is divided into 328 dwelling associations (Kebeles) of which 305 are urban and 23 rural. The city council is made up of 18 bureaus, offices and authorities. Amharic is the working language of the city administration.

Addis Ababa is the diplomatic capital of Africa. More than 92 embassies and consular representatives cluster in the city where the Organization of African Unity and the UN Economic Commission for Africa have their headquarters.


Addis Ababa is located in the heart of the country surrounded by Oromia.


Addis Ababa covers about 540 Km2 of which 18.2 Km2 are rural.


According to the 1994 census, the population of Addis Ababa is 2.3 million of which 28,149 are living in the rural parts of the city. Of the total population 51.6% are females while 48.4% are male.

As capital of the country, Addis Ababa is a city where, despite differences in number, almost all-ethnic groups live in. However, the major ethnic groups are, Amharas 48.3%, Oromos 19.2%, Guragies 17.5%, Tigrains 7.6%, and others all together 7.4%.

Regarding religion, 82% of the population are Orthodox Christians, 12.7% Muslims, 3.9% Protestants, 0.8% Catholics, and 0.6% followers of other religions (Hindus, Jews, Bauhaus, Jehovah, Agnostics…).

Topography and Climate

Addis Ababa lies between 2,200 and 2,500 meters above sea level. The city lies at the foot of the 3,000 meters high Entoto Mountains.

Despite its proximity to the equator, Addis Ababa enjoys a mild, Afro-Alpine temperate and warm temperate climate. The lowest and the highest annual average temperature is between 9.89 and 24.6400c. The city rambles pleasantly across many wooden hillsides and gullies cut through with fast flowing streams especially during the rainy seasons from July-September.

Pages: 1  2