Afar Regional State Afar Regional State

The State of Afar consists of 5 administrative zones, 29 woredas and 28 towns. The rural area has 326 farmers associations, while the urban part has 32 kebeles. Afar is the origin of human species, where a 4.4 million years old humanoid is recently discovered.


The capital city of the state of Afar is Semera.


Afar is located in the eastern part of Ethiopia. The region has common boundaries with the State of Eritrea in the north-east, withTigray in the north-west, with Amhara in the south-west, with Oromiain the south, with the State of Somalia in the south-east and with the Republic of Djibouti in the east.


The State of Afar has got an estimated area of 270,000 square kilometres.


According to the census, the population of the state of Afar as of 22nd July 1996 was 1,106,383 of which 626,839 were males and according to the 1994 census, is estimated at 1,106,383 of which 626,839 are males and 479,544 are females. Rural population is about 1,020,504 (92.2%), while the urban population is counted at 85,879.

The major ethnic compositions are Afar 91.8%, Amhara 4.5%, Argoba 0.92%, Tigraway 0.82%,Oromo 0.7%, Wolaita 0. 45%, and Hadiya 0.013%.

Regarding religion 96% of the population are Muslim, 3.86% Orthodox Christians, 0.43% Protestants, 0.09% Catholics and others constitute 0.02%.

The Afarigna language is predominantly (90.8%) spoken in the region. It is also the working language of the state. Other major languages spoken in the state includes Amharic 6.68%, Tigrigna 0.74%, Oromifa 0.68%, Argobigna 0.4% and Wolaitigna 0.26%.

Pages: 1  2