Tigray Regional State Tigray Regional State

Flag of Tigray Regional State

The State of Tigray consists of 4 administrative zones, one special zone, 35 woredas and 74 towns. The State Council which is the highest administrative body of the state is made up of 152 members, the executive body consists of 16 personalities.

The capital city of the State of Tigray is Mekele

The State of Tigray is located at the northern tip of the country. The region shares common borders with Eritrea in the north, the State of Afar in the east, the State of Amhara in the south, and the Republic of the Sudan in the west

The State of Tigray has an estimated area of 80,000 square kilometres.

According to the 1994 Census the state's population size was 3,136,267 of which 1,542,165 were males and 1,594,102 were females. The urban residents of the region number 468, 478 and its rural residents 2,667,789. In terms of religion 95.5% of the population are Orthodox Christians, 4.1% and 0.4% are Muslims and Catholics respectively.  Regarding ethnic composition, 94.98% are Tigraway, 2.6% Amhara, 0.7%  Erob and 0.05% Kunama. Tigrigna is the working language of the state.

About 83% of the population are farmers. Teff, wheat, and barely are the main crops. Other agricultural products include beans, lentils, onions, and potatoes. Irrigation and terrace farming are used on the steep slopes. The region is also known for its export items of cotton, incense, sesame and minerals. 1.5 million hectares of land in the region is cultivable, of which one million hectares is being cultivated, while 420,877 hectares of land is terraced. Handicraft (gold smith, painting and wood sculptures) is another area of activity observed in the historic cities of the state.

Pages: 1  2